jump to navigation

someone’s missing from this meeting November 19, 2008

Posted by That Guy in A Stunning Example of Synergy.
trackback

“A Stunning Example of Synergy” is a new category highlighting the exact opposite. I’m sure you’ve seen other stunning examples at your own office.

One of the many ways companies are working to build interest and good press is by virally marketing their successes and doing things “outside the box”*. Well, CorporateSpeak has a plan to make people a little bit happier by spreading good karma. We’re going to send our street team out to coffee shops and parking garages, doing nice things for potential customers.

Naturally, there’s a website for this. Naturally, I’ll be building it.

Naturally, they had a meeting about it and no one from my department was involved.

Now, this isn’t to say that I haven’t been involved at all. That group brought me in at the beginning to make sure what they wanted to do was possible and that I could get it done in a reasonable amount of time. Then, the day before the meeting, one of the project managers sat down with me and we hashed out what the site should look like.

It’s just frustrating, I suppose, that there’s no actual synergy between departments here. I should’ve been a part of that meeting; when I’m not, things tend to get promised or decided that either we already have or we’re not technologically capable of doing.

Plus, they had bagels, and I was really hungry.

A stunning example of synergy all around.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

