jump to navigation

perceived level of disruption December 22, 2008

Posted by That Guy in Meeting Minutes, Technology Trouble.
trackback

CC-licensed photo by Flickr user Joi

CC-licensed photo by Flickr user Joi

I was sitting in a meeting a few days ago. It was one I’d already attended a couple of versions of, but this was the Big Meeting, the one where we announced that everyone in the company would be doing every function of every department in some way or another. I’ve been a part of this distressing process since it started.

The VP was giving her presentation. I’ve heard it. Twice. So I was sitting in the back of the room, very quietly fiddling with my phone. Next to me is one of the young guys from manufacturing and next to him is my boss.

Ten minutes in, my boss tells me to stop fiddling with my phone, that I’ve been playing with it since I got to the meeting. (Which is true.) But before, during, and after, he’s been chatting to the manufacturing guy.

So… which was more disruptive? Me playing quietly on my phone or the two of them talking to each other?

Apparently it was me.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

