jump to navigation

Get Them Started Early February 24, 2009

Posted by That Guy in Guest Post, Seen Elsewhere, Technology Trouble.
trackback

The following guest post was written by KF, a friend of the Speak. KF works in the jewelry industry, and is divorced with one child. He has been friends with That Guy since 2002.

***

My parents showed up at my house one day with a LittleTouch LeapPad, a game system for kids where you put the cartridge in the back and a book in the front, and it reads the book, plays music, and lets the kid play games. My daughter loved it when she was one, and now that she’s almost three she’s asking for me to put in the different books and even “reading” them to us when they’re not in.

I’m worried my parents will show up this summer with the Text and Learn, which is already being called “BlackBerry for Baby”. I gave her my old phone when it finally died, and she loves to play with it (don’t worry, I took out the battery), but does she really need a trainer smartphone? Mine chains me to my job every day. I don’t want her to have that kind of experience when she’s just in nursery school.

It does seem like kind of a cool toy. From CNet via MSNBC:

Virtual pal Scout is onboard to help; youngsters can exchange text messages with the little guy and check Scout’s planner for meeting conflicts […], and explore in a “pretend” browser mode. Other learning activities include letter matching, shape identification and QWERTY keyboard navigation.

I don’t know. I guess it’s important to get kids started on harmless copies of the real world, but this might be too much.

Text and Learn

Text and Learn

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

