jump to navigation

“I don’t know how to do that” April 14, 2009

Posted by That Guy in Did I Hear That Right?.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Today we got a little piece of content that needed to go on one of our sites. The content manager said to the person who received the e-mail, “why don’t you put that up on the website?”

The person who received the e-mail said, “I don’t know how to do that.”

CC-licensed photo by Kevin Lawver.

CC-licensed photo by Kevin Lawver.

I died a little inside. I spent literally 45 minutes teaching her and three of her co-workers how to use our CMS. I gave them all directions. I sit about ten feet away from her; she could have asked me and I would’ve walked her through it.

But no; she’s been here too long and has too much seniority to put anything on the website. Why bother? If she just sits on it long enough, someone else will solve the problem for her by doing the work.

So much for all the time I spent training people.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

