jump to navigation

That Guy’s Tips for Corporate Success, #19 June 18, 2009

Posted by That Guy in Technology Trouble, Tips for Corporate Success.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Don’t make it difficult for me to respond to your e-mails.

I get a lot of e-mail, some of it from customers or people who work with our clients. I don’t mind sending helpful responses, either; often people are so surprised to hear from me that their opinion of the company goes up a few notches.

Some of them, though, never get my replies. Here’s why:

I apologize for this automatic reply to your email.

To control spam, I now allow incoming messages only from senders I have approved beforehand.

If you would like to be added to my list of approved senders, please fill out the short request form (see link below). Once I approve you, I will receive your original message in my inbox. You do not need to resend your message. I apologize for this one-time inconvenience.

Click the link below to fill out the request:

(link)

Look, I get it: you get a lot of spam, and you want people to prove they’re humans. I get a bunch of spam too, and some of it even gets past my filters. But if you’re going to e-mail a corporate entity, or representative thereof, would it kill you to put my e-mail address on your whitelist?

Because no one in the business world has time to fill out your form and give their personal information to the company who maintains your whitelist. No one.

And now you don’t get the benefit of an answer to your question.

Don’t make me do this to e-mail you:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

