jump to navigation

an afternoon of interviews, part one July 2, 2009

Posted by That Guy in Getting Hired.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The Daily WTF is a great blog if you’re a programmer or coder. If you think your job is crazy, the Daily WTF will make you realize that it could be worse. Recently they posted stories of crazy interviews. As a former manager, that made me think about the one time I did a whole afternoon of interviews.

This is as dressy as I expect anyone to be when I interview him or her. No ties, please. (photo by apes_abroad)

This is as dressy as I expect anyone to be when I interview him or her. No ties, please. (photo by apes_abroad)

At the time, I was looking for one part-time employee to work 12 hours per week. I spent two weeks collecting resumes, then reviewed them and decided on the four best. My personal method is to give each resume a number, one through four; fours definitely get called, threes probably do, twos might, and ones don’t. In that crop of resumes, I had no fours, a few threes, a few twos, and an awful lot of ones — see, one of my barriers to entry is that you have to follow directions, and I explicitly said applicants should paste their resumes into the body of an e-mail, instead of attaching them separately.

You’d be surprised how many people who desperately need jobs but refuse to follow the directions.

The first interview was with Jorge. Jorge had a good background in security systems, and seemed dependable. However, when he got to the office, I realized that he wasn’t going to be right for the job. First of all, he showed up in a suit and carrying a briefcase; anyone dressed like that wasn’t going to be happy with a 12-hour-a-week job. I interviewed him anyway and found out that (a) he wasn’t all that good at communicating in English and (b) he wanted a full-time job. Well, where I used to work we talked to a lot of PR agencies and while it was fine to have an accent people had to at least be able to comprehend you, and anyway I didn’t have any full-time work available.

The second interview was with Katrina. Katrina was very pretty, and I’m not too ashamed to say I checked her out several times while we were talking. She was just out of college, living at home, and looking for part-time employment. Her degree was in the field, and she was quite professional. She made quite an impression (and not just because she was attractive), and I felt confident that, if I hired her, she would do a fine job.

The third interview was with Jan. Jan worked for another company in the same field, though not a direct competitor — we’d hired from that company before, and I knew it would be all right with my regional manager if she worked part-time for us. We talked a lot about her full-time job, half to make sure it wouldn’t interfere with this one and the other half because it was interesting to me. She had some experience doing what I wanted, and I certainly liked her, but I knew I wouldn’t be hiring her that time around.

The fourth interview was with Alan. Alan was a perfect example of a manager keying on someone he likes for all the wrong reasons. Alan was an extremely smart guy with a lot of technical know-how, and I was convinced he could do the job, but more than that I immediately liked him. We shared the same sense of humor, we laughed at each other’s jokes, and we generally had what most people would call a good interview.

The fifth and final interview was with Tanya. If I thought Katrina had assets, I hadn’t seen anything yet. Tanya was professional, and like Jan she worked for another company in the same arena — part-time there, though, so she had plenty of time to work for me — but I couldn’t stop staring because… well, I’m sorry, and I know it makes me sound like a pervert, but she was extremely well-endowed*. She was professional and knowledgeable, and she was literally looking for just a few hours a week, not for any sort of advancement. She was actually hoping to get promoted at her other job, but it wasn’t looking likely so she needed the extra income. I totally understood and respected that.

So. Five potential employees. One position. One choice. Who did it end up being?

I’ll tell you tomorrow.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

* A female employee later noted that she had, and I quote, “ginormous ta-tas”. Never let it be said that my employees didn’t feel comfortable around me.

Comments»

1. an afternoon of interviews, part two « corporatespeak - July 3, 2009

[…] an afternoon of interviews, part two July 3, 2009 Posted by That Guy in Getting Hired, Management. Tags: callbacks, gut instinct, job seeker, Management trackback (Read part one here.) […]


Leave a Reply

