jump to navigation

it actually is rocket science July 27, 2009

Posted by That Guy in Did I Hear That Right?, Technology Trouble.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Now THIS is rocket science. (CC license information at bottom of post.)

Now THIS is rocket science. (CC license information at bottom of post.)

First, the Dramatis Personae:

Len: A preproduction guy.
Andy: An art guy.
Becky: A layout production person.
Me: That Guy.

Date: Last Friday.

8:10 a.m.

Me: phone rings as I’m rebooting my computer Hello?
Len: Hey, TG, I just wanted to let you know we got a photo for that nonprofit project. Len proceeds to explain the nonprofit project in two brief sentences. I’m heading out, but I wanted to let you know it was there so you could put it on the layout.
Me: exasperatedly All right. Thanks.
Len: Andy put it in the art system.
Me: dejectedly, because the art system is completely independent from every other computer system in the building, and it would’ve been faster to just e-mail the photo to every single person in the company Got it.

8:12 a.m.

Me: dials Becky Hey, Len got this photo, but I’m still getting booted up. Gives Becky the project number. Can you drop the photo in the folder for that project?
Becky: Um… where is it?
Me: It’s in the art system. Len told me Andy put it in there.
Becky: What’s it called?
Me: I’m not sure. My computer’s still booting up. pauses Look, just give me ten minutes and I’ll take care of it.
Becky: No, no, I got it, I’ll figure it out.
Me: Okay, thanks.

8:14 a.m.

Becky: walks over to where Len is still hanging around even though he’s been off the clock for 15 minutes Hey, Len, where’s that photo for project 123456?
Len: Andy put it in the art system. raises voice Hey, Andy, where’s that photo?
Andy: It’s in the art system.
Becky: Which drive? What did you call it?
Andy: It’s in the art system D drive. Becky rolls her eyes; the D drive is the “dump it in there with everything else” drive. I don’t remember what it’s called.
Becky: Andy–
Andy: Do you want me to send it again?
Becky: No, I’ll find it.

8:17 a.m.

Len: yelling across the room Hey, Becky, did you find that photo?
Becky: yelling back Yeah, but I can’t use it.
Andy: also yelling What’s wrong with it?
Becky: It’s been manipulated too much.
Andy: What do you want me to do with it?
Becky: I’ll get another version. Len, where is it? General e-mail?
Len: No, that doesn’t work anymore. All e-mails go to our personal accounts.
Becky: Okay. she grumbles I’ll find it.

8:30 a.m.: I boot up my computer, go into the D drive, figure out the photo based upon the time Andy sent it, drop it in the folder for project 123456, and put it on the layout. Elapsed time spent working: 90 seconds.

About ten minutes later, Becky came over and triumphantly announced that she’d found the photo and moved it over, or tried to, but it was already there. So she didn’t, because she didn’t want to overwrite someone else’s work. I thanked her and went back to writing this blog entry, incredulous at what I’d seen and heard. I guess it actually is rocket science around here.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Photo attribution license:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/oneaustin/ / CC BY-SA 2.0
Comments»

1. Cathryn - July 28, 2009

It’s amazing, but shouldn’t be, how entirely different professions can all be the same when it comes to human behavior.


Leave a Reply

