jump to navigation

The Great CorporateSpeak Reorg of 2009 September 25, 2009

Posted by That Guy in Experiences.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Well, my friends, it’s finally happened: CorporateSpeak’s corporate office has seen the way things are running here and have decided to reorganize.

cc-licensed photo by Zeetz Jones

cc-licensed photo by Zeetz Jones

Hallelujah!

Okay, first things first: it actually happened a few weeks ago, and I queued up a few posts because I knew I’d be busy getting into the swing of things. Here’s what’s changed:

  1. No More Two-Year-Old. Corporate has decided to move her to another office that needs help. She’s in a completely different branch of the business now. I now no longer see her, except maybe if we pass each other in an airport or something.
  2. Some Employees Transferred. In fact, most of the production people I worked with have been offered the option to move to a different location. Most of them accepted.
  3. Departmental Changes. I’ve been transferred to a different department in a different part of the building. Instead of being a general catch-all web guy for our advertising products, I’ve been shifted to a position that I thought I was taking years ago when I joined the company. That’s right: I’m a full-time developer now, working for our national advertising department.
  4. Teamwork. My new department consists of an overall manager, three managers under her (one of whom is my boss), and then me and the other person in the web development arm of the advertising department. That means I’m part of a team of three developers, all of whom have skills and strengths that actually complement each other. I also have a new boss who, so far, is very capable and very supportive.
  5. Peace and Quiet. I always worked in a cubicle farm. The difference is that now I’m on the advertising/agency team, which means I have a cubicle in a different part of the building, in a pod with five other people, and no one shouts. Everyone wears headphones. The most disruptive anyone’s gotten so far is to curse when something goes wrong, and that’s the head of the art department, so you kind of expect that from him.
  6. Small Raise. It’s not an actual raise, but I’m making a little more money because I’m technically in a new role, and that new role pays more. Yet I find myself working less. Explain that one to me.
  7. Actual Web Development. In addition to my duties for the advertising department, our sub-group is also in charge of building the actual web apps we use, both internally and externally (advertising client-facing). This means more coding, which means more learning. Awesomeness.

There are, however, a few downsides:

  1. Stricter IT Policy. I now no longer have free reign of my PC. It has everything I could possibly need — browsers, developer tools, Adobe CS/4, you name it. I miss having administrator access, but it’s okay.
  2. More Accountability. I actually have to keep track of what I do each day and submit it to my boss. A lot harder to goof off.
  3. New Programming Languages. While I’m capable in both JavaScript and PHP, my real strength is .NET. Well, we don’t use .NET on this side. I spent some time this week reviewing JavaScript, and next week I’m going to take a chunk out of each day to review and/or expand my PHP skills. I guess this isn’t really a downside, except that sometimes I look at the code and I’m like “SCUSE ME WTF IS DIS?”
  4. Hours. My workday starts later, which means I get home later. Also, I can’t work out, because when they reorganized, the gym equipment got moved to a facility in a different state. I’m not quite sure why that happened, but what it means is that I get to sit on the couch in the morning until 7:30 before I have to start getting ready. I can’t afford a gym membership, but maybe the local YMCA has a pool I can use… I’ll have to check into that.
  5. People. Despite their general pain-in-the-ass-itude, I really actually liked the people I was working with. I’m glad none of them were laid off — that was never in the plan, I learned — but I’m going to miss working with them. Still, I work one metropolitan area away; it’s not as if we can’t all still hit a bar or something. And we all have instant messengers.

Overall, though, I can’t complain. (Well, all right, I can always find something to complain about, but you get the idea.) Everything I hated about working at CorporateSpeak has been eliminated or changed, and I’m working with a much better group of people who deal with national clients — and that means everyone has to be better at their jobs and accept much less bullshit.

And believe me, much less bullshit is accepted. Except where appropriate, and I’ll discuss that next week sometime.

Meanwhile, I’m going to go do this for a little while:

snoopy-dance

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

